What’s in a Name?

Amanda over at Meanderings of a Restless Mind posits that names have connotations and connections. I can’t imagine a young child named Martha or Bertha, but a grown woman, sure.

This is my point exactly as far as changing my characters’ names, too. Sheila became Gloria and Carla became Miranda. Since neither appear beyond the first chapter, those changes were minor.

Then there’s Carmina. She was a bit trickier since she plays a larger role.

This is how I picture her:

owner retains all rights

Now think of her name as Julia. Still fit? I think so.

Either way, all of this is just my own meanderings. Once the book comes out, readers will always think of her as Julia.

Leave a Reply

