Editing

A friend posted a list of extra words she searches for in her writing; getting rid of too many, or unnecessary, uses of these really smooths things out.

I’ve decided to ready the first part of my novel for a professional edit rather than wait for the full thing to be completed, as she can work on the part that’s finished while I fix the final chapters. Hopefully this will shorten the time between completing my edit and sending it off to the publisher. So, my husband and I have been working our way down the list, hacking and slashing with the best of them.

I hadn’t stopped to look at the effects until last night when I noticed my word count was down by 300…and we’re only ¼ of the way through the list. Nice.

Editing is like cleaning a litter box. Leave the important stuff, but remove the shit.

Leave a Reply

