Unintended Witness

Here’s an interesting question: What if you could hear someone else’s prayers about you? (Notice I didn’t say for you.)

Praise God that we can be completely honest with Him about everything (He already knows how we feel and what we’re going through, anyway). In chapter 4, my main female protag witnesses her love interest expressing his anger about her to their Spiritual Leader. Of course, she then reacts in anger. (How often do we think we know exactly what’s going on?) The SL doesn’t take too kindly to her reaction as he had been dealing with the love interest. Even so, the upshot is more hurt between the two.

I can think back on times where I’ve inadvertently hurt someone, too. When my brother started at the private school sponsored by our church, they had him look through the notebooks of one of the best students in his grade level for how to do things. A week or two later, I saw the girl (whom I admired) at a church function and bragged about it to the friend I was with. Of course I was young and talked a little too loudly and the girl heard me say her name–but she didn’t hear the whole conversation. And I wasn’t smart enough to clue her in once I realized it.

I doubt she remembers it, but I still cringe. There’s no way she would have known I was saying good things about her. (I hope she’s forgiven me, and yes, I learned to keep my mouth shut after that.)

Leave a Reply

