Bombai Bansoo

I should delete the last post, but I’m going to leave it to remind me that it’s never as bad as I think it is. I haven’t quit the book – kind of can’t when I know it’s what God wants me to do. 🙂 It’s a good thing He filled me with such love for it; I’d never finish the edit otherwise.

My husband walked me through an exercise in details today and was shocked at my creative process. I’ve been in this fictional world since 2004, but a lot of it is still white space in my head. I can picture certain details, but overall, it’s pretty empty…or wrong.

He wanted me to describe a priest’s office that my characters visit in a temple. Here’s what’s in my mind:

Small room, like a college professor’s; cluttered with filing cabinets; files and stacks of papers everywhere. Harsh fluorescent lighting shines on a small wooden desk and plastic chairs.

ChairsOfficeClutter

Here’s roughly what ended up on the page:

We walked into a sparsely-furnished, caramel-colored office. The priest sat at a cherry wood table, still dressed from dinner. Peppermint incense burned in a holder at his elbow next to a small lamp shining on a bamboo plant. Behind him, a painting replicated the view of the valley from the meditation room. Three chairs faced him and he gestured for us to take a seat. My companions did so, but I went up and put my hands on the desk. “You have to reconsider.”

Um, yeah.

Of course, while looking for pictures for this post, I realized why I have this problem. Quite frankly, I couldn’t find images that fit this description. Aha moment. At least now we understand why details are so difficult…

btw bombai bansoo = bonsai bamboo
I have a wonderful knack for crossing words like when I talk. 😉

“You know of course that many times before I finish this book I shall hate it with a deadly hatred. I shall detest the day when I started it. It will seem the poorest piece of crap that was ever set down. This feeling will reach a fine peak . . . Once I am past that, I will continue to work in a state of shock.” John Steinbeck

“Editing a chapter is like pulling teeth and hoping the readers won’t feel a thing.” Eric Wilson

“I think perfectionism is based on the obsessive belief that if you run carefully enough, hitting each stepping-stone just right, you won’t have to die. The truth is that you will die anyway and that a lot of people who aren’t even looking at their feet are going to do a whole lot better than you, and have a lot more fun while they’re doing it.” ~ Anne Lamott

Leave a Reply

