Capturing the Joy

It’s an odd juxtaposition feeling hopefully optimistic while sitting on pins and needles. The first 2500 words of Chap 1 are in the hands of an agent awaiting feedback.

I could tell you all the things that are wrong with it in my own opinion, but I won’t. Instead, I’m going to focus on what I do like about it.

  1. Starting it closer to the inciting event gets to the conflict sooner.
  2. My husband was impressed that I was able to move the key elements around so this scene works as the opening to the novel.
  3. It no longer feels like a completely different novel from the first scene to the second.
  4. I got rid of some unimportant characters.
  5. I didn’t fail.

The sun is shining outside. Come what storms may this week, for now there is peace.

2 thoughts on “Capturing the Joy

  1. Congratulations! I’m so glad you’ve gotten to this point. Keep your focus on the good things and it will give you energy to deal with the things that aren’t as good as they could be. (I need to learn this myself, concerning my writing and other things. 🙂

    • Amen. It’s so difficult to keep that focus – especially when you’re editing.
      The feedback turned out be better than I expected and it helped reaffirmed that I’m where He wants me. Little things like that help immensely in keeping my attitude right.

Leave a Reply

