What Spaghetti and Meatballs Taught Me About Generating Buzz

My dad is a spaghetti-and-meatballs kind of guy. Anytime he can get that at a restaurant, he will.

The local Denny’s has become a favorite haunt of his, and they treat him well. Once, they had ordered too much chicken soup, and the manager, knowing my dad liked it, gave him a huge container he could prepare himself at home. Then one night, he couldn’t decide what he wanted to eat, so the cook offered to make spaghetti and meatballs the way he ate it himself. The result had my dad raving.

He soon converted my brother and sister. Meanwhile, another customer remarked how my dad really seemed taken with that meal. The cook asked him, “You like garlic?” “Yes.” “Good. I’ll make it for you the next time you come in.”

Personally, I’ve been to Denny’s twice in the last 7 years and got sick both times, so we avoid it. But last night, we were finally persuaded to see what the fuss was about.

Oh mygosh.

Considering that the first meal I cooked my husband when we were dating was spaghetti, for me to say that this is the best I’ve had is saying something. Whatever he does to the water results in plump spaghetti strands full of flavor. Add the sauce and a little bit of cheese, amazing meatballs and scrumptious herb toast and the result is pure heaven.

This is the best way to sell, and an advertiser’s dream. You don’t worry about selling to a lot of people, just one true fan. Buzz builds from there as that fan sells your work to their friends and family.

From that one meal, this cook has generated 5 and possibly 6 repeat customers (I didn’t get sick—yay—and with food like this, I will be back) and 5 or 6 people who will now share that recommendation with even more people.

Spaghetti and meatballs. Who knew.

Leave a Reply

