October 13

8 years ago today I officially signed up for my first nanowrimo. Scared, excited…determined.

My idea was guaranteed to net 50,000 words: showcase short stories that writer’s conference attendees have to produce in a weekend.

About a week later, we were driving home from a friend’s house, and I idly stared at all the trees damaged by the 3 hurricanes that had hit during the 2 prior months. So a hurricane showed up in the novel…and the plot waved goodbye from there.

Ah, good times. Can’t believe so many years have passed already. I’m not a fan of October, but I shiver with anticipation in the run up to NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

