A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Plot

I’m still surprised that I managed to pull off a nano win. Just after Thanksgiving, at a week out, I only had around 12,000 words. (oy!)

I wrote furiously for the last week and discovered that I didn’t want to finish the novella I’d been working on (Sabrina and Vincent’s post FB story). So, I started other scenes and wrote whatever I felt like (usually dialogue). My characters started talking and I discovered that I have 4 novellas now that will bridge the gap between books 1 and 2. Crazy!

It really helped to write this and discover even more about the characters I’ve met in this novel. Turns out that the oldest Quechop had a bit of a crush on the girl he eventually proposed to, but after what happened with Vincent and Julia, Vanyal decided to leave emotions out of it. Poor Mai. But though she’s outwardly demure, she’s no shrinking violet. It was fascinating to watch her blossom from the most bad-ass ninja Ptolem has ever seen into a beautiful Jasmine flower with a core of steel. She’s perfect for Arcturial and for Vanyal.

Then Orianna and Jordan popped up. Apparently it’s easier for a relationship if the guy is the mind-reader. Poor Jordan. But he’s got a heart of gold and knows a good thing when he sees her. Helps that he developed the technology that will let him watch all of her comings and goings. And he’s decent enough to let her know he’ll be watching. (Dude, that sounds so much worse when said that way.) But since he’s having a hard time adjusting to being the boyfriend of the most powerful princess Arcturial has ever known, she uses the technology to record video diaries to her beloved. Monsieur reluctant CEO will never know what hit him. Ah, l’amour.

And what about Trey? The one whose singleness necessitated the novellas in the first place? This is what made it into my nano:

This is the story all about how my life got quick turned upside down … it’s how Trey became the prince of Arcturial. Ha.

Erm, ever have a moment where something sounded so much more clever in your head? Yeah, me neither. *sigh*

So, once Fictional Boundaries gets completed, I’m really looking forward to developing the continuing stories of our amazing Quechop. 😉

Leave a Reply

